Rasta Monkey Game Review & Giveaway!

17 Mar

rasta_zoom

Rasta Monkey is the best Iphone 2D action platformer that just came out for this week.It won a Special Recognition award for best “Action Game Development” and “2d Game Design” at Unity Developer Game Awards.

The story of this game portrays you as a playful and happy Rastafarian monkey, whom one day have to venture out the world to collect fruits and delicious fruits for papa monkey favorite fruit shake.

rasta_missionstart1

rasta_missionend

You have to swing around and hold onto branches and grab the delicious fruits for your papa monkey. To swing your monkey, just hold on both your thumbs on your Iphone. The arrows will appear and when you decide on the direction, you let go both your thumbs. To move forward, hold and tap right. To move backwards, hold and tap left.

What I like about this game:

1. The game music is hilarious, which keeps me continuously playing.

2. The colorful landscape background and cute trees crops on the branches    that brightens up my mood.

3. The game zooms in when you stop swinging so that you can admire your monkey. The game zooms out by itself at certain times of the game so that you can see more of your surroundings to find the fruits.

4. There is helpful instructions in the beginning of the game which briefs me on my mission how many fruits I need to collect. There are also flag checkpoints to determine my progress from tree branches to branches.

rasta_zoomout

Features that needs more work:

1. Anyone who has this game have to play around with the controls more to know the tactics of jumping, climbing and swinging on ropes. Sometimes, if you swing your monkey too far away, it will drop to its death with a cry. The physics of swinging goes in hand with gravity forces.

2. This game need helpful direction arrows to be included even though there is zoom out functions to help, because sometimes after the branches is a cliff and I can’t see beyond the cliff.

Great game overall at $1.99. It is certainly worth buying if you want some monkey action!

Note: I have one extra code for Rasta Monkey. Let me know what you expect from the updates of this game and why you deserve this game by submitting a comment in this review. You might just be the winner!

17 Responses to “Rasta Monkey Game Review & Giveaway!”

  1. raoupp March 19, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    I dunno what should be the content of the update, because I haven’t played the game yet. So no suggestions from me 😉
    Now why should I deserve this game… I like platformers, cute graphics, monkeys, drug themed games, reggae, interesting controls… is that enough?

  2. mrholder March 19, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    This game looks fun. Would love to try it. Nice review.

  3. Zeon March 19, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    it look greatz… love to try n playz it~

  4. Matt March 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Well from what I’ve heard it could use a few more levels and it seems to be a little tricky to play at times with certain views so maybe a way to view the map while playing. Like once the monkey stops instead of zooming in maybe it will zoom out to help see the map.

    And I would like the promo to play and then review on iTunes and YouTube.

  5. Zincous March 19, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    For updates I expect levels, smoother gameplay, and any bugs that are found to be fixed.

    I would like to try this game out, I really like Rolando and Sway and this seems to be a combo between the two, so l think I would enjoy playing Rasta Monkey. Although I don’t think I’d buy it. So that is why this contest is perfect for me!

  6. Jason March 19, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    The update will contain more monkey madness, which I love. And also I love monkeys, and especially Rasta Monkeys! 🙂

  7. Gabriel March 19, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    My reason for getting this game is because I believe it would be a mazing to play >>

  8. kelvint March 19, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    exactly what I’ve been looking for!

    I’m not sure if this has been included. maybe collect stuffs to unlock new levels?

    hidden items, like tough to reach places? which maybe magically unlocks additional levels, maybe a special double jumping to reach higher places?

    game looks amazing!

  9. Wmc March 19, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    There is nothing much to update because its a good enough game. I deserve this game because I would share it with my family and friends so they can enjoy it too.

  10. Jason March 19, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    Looks like a great game, I’d LOVE to test it out 🙂

  11. Jason March 19, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    Please take this comment and my last one out, comp glitched 😦

  12. James March 19, 2009 at 10:27 pm #

    Since I haven’t played the game yet, I don’t know about updates. But if it’s anything like Sway, maybe more levels??

    Also, maybe a guest character with special abilities to spice things up?

    OOOH…or also UNLOCKABLE rasta hats :D.

    I would realllly love to play this game. I loved Sway and I really, really hope to be able to get a code for this game. If I like it, I’ll definitely spread the word and let people know :).

  13. Rachel March 21, 2009 at 3:42 am #

    Ahhhhhh…. I realised i posted on the wrong promo!!! LOL…… I wanted this game but i got the Knockem game but its ok.. Im still very happy… its my first application loaded on my new iphone. Hugs (:

  14. ZamZar March 21, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    I deserve this because mi head will go CHAKA CHAKA!
    I expect more levels and cool features like the trampolines in updates.

  15. iphonetech78 March 22, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    The winner goes to Wmc. Enjoy your rasta monkey game with your family and friends.

    Remember to leave a review for it in iTunes.

  16. stefanos March 23, 2009 at 1:22 am #

    i deserve this code because i have had a rough week, my mom got breast cancer and my aunt had a heart attack and i broke my left arm.(not a joke) i am expecting an update where you can be timed.

  17. iphonetech78 March 23, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    stefanos: you came too late. The code was given away. 😦

Leave a Reply

